UW Directory

FHL Contact Information

Friday Harbor Laboratories
620 University Road
Friday Harbor, WA 98250
206-543-1484 or 360-378-2165

For Inquiries

FHL courses: masonfhl@uw.edu
Staying and/or doing research at FHL (not incl. Whiteley Center): fhlfac@uw.edu
Holding a field trip, conference, or retreat at FHL: fhlconf@uw.edu
The FHL REU Program: stacy.farina@howard.edu
Staying at the Whiteley Center: hrwctr@uw.edu
All other inquiries: fhl@uw.edu

URGENT REQUESTS AFTER HOURS: Caretakers Michelle & Mike Herko 360-298-0220 (cell)

Administration Resident Scientists Research Advisory Committee
Staff Postdoctoral Fellows Teaching Advisory Committee
DEI Committee Graduate Students FHL Advancement Board

 


Administration

Megan Dethier Director 206-616-0764 mdethier@uw.edu
Bernadette Holthuis Operations Manager 206-616-0708 holthuis@uw.edu 
Alisa Schoultz Business Manager 206-616-0759 alisafhl@uw.edu

Resident Scientists

Robert Andersen raa48@uw.edu Trish Morse mpmorse@uw.edu
Emily Carrington ecarring@uw.edu Dennis Willows dwillows@uw.edu
Megan Dethier mdethier@uw.edu Lynn Riddiford lmr@uw.edu
David Duggins dduggins@uw.edu Ken Sebens sebens@uw.edu
Victoria Foe vicfoe@uw.edu Craig Staude staude@uw.edu
Carolyn Friedman carolynf@uw.edu Richard Strathmann rrstrath@uw.edu
Deborah A. Giles giles7@gmail.com Adam Summers fishguy@uw.edu
H. Gary Greene greene@mlml.calstate.edu Billie Swalla bjswalla@uw.edu
Danny Grunbaum random@uw.edu  Jim Truman trumanj@janelia.hhmi.org
Jason Hodin larvador@uw.edu Pedro Verdugo verdugo@uw.edu
Terrie Klinger tklinger@uw.edu Sandy Wyllie-Echeverria zmseed@uw.edu
Claudia Mills cemills@uw.edu

Postdoctoral Fellows

Kirk Sato knsato@uw.edu
Eliza Heery eliza.heery@gmail.com

Staff

Rachel Anderson Assoc. Director for Advancement 206-616-0760 rachelea@uw.edu
Jakob Bueche Marine Operations Supervisor 360-920-7632 maritime@uw.edu
Tiffany Cloud Fiscal Specialist ttcloud@uw.edu
Diana Pieples Fiscal Specialist 206-221-4098 dpieples@uw.edu
Peggy Combs Stockroom Manager 206-616-0697 fhlstock@uw.edu
Kathy Cowell Whiteley Center Coordinator 206-616-0752 cowelk@uw.edu
Dylan Crosby IT Services 206-616-0704 dylanfhl@uw.edu
Don Ruffner IT Services 206-616-0704 druffn@uw.edu
Marshall Davis Marine Operations jmarshd@uw.edu
Doug Engel Maintenance Supervisor 206-616-0756 fixitfhl@uw.edu
Becca Guenther Visiting Groups Coordinator 206-616-0699 fhlconf@uw.edu
Michelle & Mike Herko Caretakers 360-298-0220 herko@uw.edu
Pema Kitaeff Dive Safety Officer 206-543-0876 pema@uw.edu
Kristy Kull Boat Safety Officer 206-543-0876 kjkull@uw.edu
Stacy Markman Student Services Manager 206-616-0753 fhladmin@uw.edu
Jeannie Meredith Library Assistant
Maureen Nolan Librarian 206-685-2126 nolan@uw.edu
Jenny Roberts K-12 Program fhlk12@uw.edu
Derek Smith Marine Operations maritime@uw.edu
Laurie Spaulding Food Services Manager 206-616-0698 spauldla@uw.edu
Craig Staude FHL Synoptic Collection Curator 206-543-1484 staude@uw.edu
Lee Ann Walch Custodial Supervisor walchl@uw.edu
Mason Wiley Student Services Manager masonfhl@uw.edu
Stephanie Zamora Front Office Manager 206-616-0702 fhlfac@uw.edu

Graduate Students

Karly Cohen kecohen@uw.edu Kindall Murie kmurie@uw.edu
Robin Fales rjfales@uw.edu Sasha Seroy sseroy@uw.edu
Kayla Hall kchall8@uw.edu Mo Turner msturn@uw.edu
Jack Litle litlej@uw.edu

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee

Committee email: FHL_DEI@uw.edu

Abigail Ames aames@uw.edu Kirk Sato knsato@uw.edu
Rachel Anderson rachelea@uw.edu Adam Summers fishguy@uw.edu
Karly Cohen kecohen@uw.edu Mo Turner msturn@uw.edu
Kayla Hall kchall8@uw.edu Sandy Wyllie-Echeverria zmseed@uw.edu
Bernadette Holthuis holthuis@uw.edu

Research Advisory Committee

The FHL Research Advisory Committee provides advice to the FHL Director to enhance the capacity, relevance, and effectiveness of FHL, for example in strategic planning, improving connections with the research community, and solving policy issues that can benefit from diverse input.

Sophie George, Georgia Southern University georges@georgiasouthern.edu
Charles Greene, Cornell University chg2@cornell.edu
Eliza Heery, Smithsonian Institute HeeryE@si.edu
Terrie Klinger, UW Marine & Environmental Affairs klinger@uw.edu
Mimi Koehl, University of California Berkeley cnidaria@berkeley.edu
Tom Mumford, UW Friday Harbor Labs tmumford@uw.edu
Jan Newton, UW Applied Physics Lab janewton@uw.edu
Adam Summers, UW Friday Harbor Labs fishguy@uw.edu
James Truman, UW Friday Harbor Labs trumanj@janelia.hhmi.org

Teaching Advisory Committee

The FHL Teaching Advisory Committee evaluates submitted summer course proposals and provides advice to the FHL Director on courses to be offered in a given year.

Robin Fales, UW Friday Harbor Labs rjfales@uw.edu
Carolyn Friedman, UW Aquatic & Fisheries Sciences carolynf@uw.edu
Matt Kolmann, University of Michigan mkolmann@gmail.com
Rachel Merz, Swarthmore College rmerz1@swarthmore.edu
Mikelle Nuwer, UW Oceanography mrasmuss@uw.edu
Bruno Pernet, CA State University Long Beach bruno.pernet@csulb.edu
George von Dassow, Oregon Inst. of Marine Biology dassow@uoregon.edu

Back to Top